top of page

Greeley Arts Legacy announces Greeley Chorale as 2023 Hall of Fame inductee

Updated: Oct 20, 2023

The Greeley Arts Legacy has announced the inductees for its 2023 Hall of Fame Class with an induction ceremony set for 7 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 19 in the Hensel Phelps Theatre at the Union Colony Civic Center, 701 10th Ave., Greeley.

This year, Lynn Bassett, Daniel Frantz and The Greeley Chorale will be added to the list of Hall of Fame inductees that includes past inductees Helen Langworthy, the Greeley Philharmonic Orchestra and Lydia Ruyle, among others.

Formed in 1964, the Greeley Chorale is a community choral comprised of singers from across the northern Colorado region.

The group performs a variety of music including smaller a cappella choral pieces up to major choral works with orchestras. Throughout the years, the chorale has grown from 40 singers to more than 100 members, garnering the group a reputation as one of the finest choruses in the state.

The chorale has performed internationally on nine separate tours and is a staple at annual community events such as the Greeley Arts Picnic, Greeley Stampede and the Greeley Christmas Tree Lighting ceremony.

The Greeley Arts Legacy was founded 2017 by visual artist Ed Rogers. The organization’s mission is to recognize, acknowledge and preserve the history of individuals and organizations who have demonstrated a significant contribution in leadership and excellence within the arts community of Greeley.

Each spring, the organization votes on a list of nominees compiled from suggestions from the community. Nominees can be made by anyone and can be from any branch of the arts, including visual art, music, dance, culinary arts and creatives.

In addition to artists, individuals and organizations that support the arts are also eligible for nomination such as teachers, leadership, administration, benefactors and advocates.

Nominees can be living or deceased, and they do not have to be natives of Greeley nor lifetime residents to be considered for the Greeley Arts Legacy Hall of Fame.

Since its inception, the Greeley Arts Legacy has hosted an induction ceremony and reception in October for incoming hall of famers and their friends, family and community members.

During the ceremony, each inductee is presented with an award created by artist Frank Garza and gives an acceptance speech.

In addition to the award, inductees’ names will be etched into stone sculptures known as the “Awards About Town.” The sculptures list the names of the previous year’s inductees and are displayed outside the Union Colony Civic Center from now until the induction ceremony on Oct. 19.

The organization’s board is made up of ten members, including:

  • Ed Rogers, president and chair;

  • Greg Gerbrandt, vice president;

  • Noel Johnston, secretary;

  • Deanna Terry, treasurer;

  • Doran Azari, fundraising chair;

  • Kayla Boldry;

  • Felisha Bustos;

  • Diane Bolden-Taylor;

  • Jean Schober Morrell;

  • Dic Munson.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Oct. 19 is free and open to all ages and community members.

To learn more about the Greeley Arts Legacy, including how to nominate a candidate or support the nonprofit, go to

This article was written by Tamara Markard and originally published by the Greeley Tribune. To read it in its entirety, click here.

22 views0 comments


bottom of page